SFRC Extension Specialists and Staff

The School’s Extension Programs are coordinated by faculty and staff with active extension programs in ecotourism, fisheries and aquatic sciences, forest stewardship, forest health, urban forestry, wildland-urban interface and youth education. Our aim is to expand current programs to emphasize non-traditional uses of forests, ecological functions of forests and water resources, wildland-urban interface issues, and integration of our forest and aquatic extension programs. Much of this is acheived with resources generated through creative partnering and grants.

 

Name

Contact us about these topics Email Phone

 Fisheries and Aquatic Resources – Freshwater, Coastal, Marine, and Aquaculture

Chuck Adams Marine aquaculture; Economic feasibility; Marketing (Food & Resource Economics Department) cmadams@ufl.edu (352) 392-1826
ext 223
Shirley Baker Marine ecology; shellfish aquaculture Sbaker25@ufl.edu (352) 273-3627
Frank Chapman Aquaculture (food and ornamental); Fish Reproduction;
Hatchery Mngmt; Vo-Ag Ed; Sturgeon
fchapman@ufl.edu (352) 273-3602
Chuck Cichra Youth Education; Water Quality;
Pond and Lake Mngmt;
Fee Fishing & Urban Fishing;
Environmental Education
cecichra@ufl.edu (352) 273-3621
Matt DiMaggio Ornamental aquaculture; baitfish mdimaggio@ufl.edu (813) 671-5230 x 115
Sharon Fitz-Coy Fishing for Success; Youth education; Aquatic Invertebrate ID sharfc@ufl.edu (352) 273-3622
Mark Flint Coastal and marine conservation; aquatic animal health; sea turtles flintm@ufl.edu (813) 415-6294
Ruth Francis-Floyd Aquatic Animal Health;
Fish Healt;h; Aquaponics; Ornamental ponds; Marine Mammals
rffloyd@ufl.edu (352) 294-4197 
(352) 745-8295
Jeff Hill Non-Native Aquatic Species; Invasive Species;
Fish Identification; Aquaculture
jeffhill@ufl.edu (813) 671-5230  x118 
Mark Hoyer Lake management and water quality mvhoyer@ufl.edu (305) 276-3611  
Bill Lindberg Fisheries Habitat: Artificial Reefs wjl@ufl.edu (352) 273-3616  
Carlos Martinez Aquaculture; Fish Reproduction; Shrimp Culture; Hatchery Mngmt; Classroom Education; Aquatic Plant Control

carlosvm@ufl.edu

(813) 671-5230 x 109

Cortney Ohs

Aquaculture & Nutrition;
Fish and Crustacean Production;
Classroom Education

cohs@ufl.edu

(772) 468-3922

Josh Patterson Restoration aquaculture; citizen science joshpatterson@ufl.edu (504) 797-4479
Debbie Pouder

Fish health and disease;
Aquaculture

dbpouder@ufl.edu

(813) 671-5230 ext 106  

Leslie Sturmer

Shellfish Aquaculture

Lnst@ufl.edu

(352) 486-5131

Bob Swett

Coastal Resource Mngmt;
Boating and Water Use  Planning & Mngmt; Geographic Information Technologies

rswett@ufl.edu

(352) 392-6233

Huiping Yang Mollusk shellfish aquaculture huipingyang@ufl.edu (352) 294-0671
Roy Yanong

Aquatic Animal Health;
Fish Health and Disease;
Fish Kills; Aquaculture;
Aquarium Fish and Ponds

rpy@ufl.edu

(813) 671-5230 x 104

Forests – Plantation, Natural, Urban and Wildland Interface

       
Michael Andreu

Urban Forestry; Fire; Bioenergy; Climate change; Forest Stewardship; Tropical Forest Mangement

mandreu@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0355

Adam Black Forest Health Diagnostic Lab Manager adamblack@ufl.edu (352) 846-0810
Chris Demers

Forest Stewardship

cdemers@ufl.edu

(352) 846-2375

Francisco Escobedo

Urban and Community Forestry; Ecosystem services and soils; Hurricanes

fescobed@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0856

Tony Fedler

Conserved Forest Ecosystems

tfedler@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0546 

Jiri Hulcr Forest Entomology; citizen science hulcr@ufl.edu (325) 273-0299 
Patrick Minogue

Forest Management
Herbicides; Woody Biomass

pminogue@ufl.edu

(850) 875-7142 

Nancy Peterson

Conserved Forests; Project Learning Tree

njp@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0848

Jason Smith

Forest Pathology; Urban Tree Health

jasons@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0843 

Human Dimensions – Educators, Youth, Visitors, and Citizens

Martha Monroe Environmental Education;
Conservation Behavior; Program Evaluation; Climate Change
mcmonroe@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0878 

Annie Oxarart

Environmental Education;
Evaluation; Wildland Fire Outreach

oxarart@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0144

Taylor Stein

Ecotourism; CFEOR;
Nature-based Recreation;
Park Planning; Off Road Vehicles;
Human Dimensions of Natural Resource Mngmt

tstein@ufl.edu

(352) 846-0860